“The war on men”

http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2012/11/24/war-on-men/

A friend posted this piece today on facebook (not in agreement with it in any way, thank god).

The author seems to argue for a general retreat to “traditional” gender roles. She says “Men want to love women, not compete with them. They want to provide for and protect their families – it’s in their DNA. But modern women won’t let them.”

There are so many things about this piece that make me want to 

The use of pseudo-science to guilt women about starting to be successful human beings just infuriates me.

3 thoughts on ““The war on men”

  1. I was just about to post this. My other favorite quote is “Fortunately, there is good news: women have the power to turn everything around. All they have to do is surrender to their nature – their femininity – and let men surrender to theirs.

    If they do, marriageable men will come out of the woodwork.”

    • Haha. I was also going to post this.

      And I agree: favorite quote. Is it sad I’ve come to the point that when I read Fox news articles, nothing shocks me? My response is, “Oh, yeah. It’s Fox. I expect nothing less from them.” Seriously, it is infuriating that they think this way, but it happens so often, it’s just become the standard for me. Or maybe it’s more of… “Fox News released another article about women’s rights? Let me just get preemptively upset about it.”

  2. I’ve read comments about this article and my biggest takeaway is that this article seems to be a death-throw of a population (men or women) clinging to their traditionalist beliefs, not an actual movement.

    No one’s saying women can’t perform the ‘traditional’ women’s roles, but I don’t think women will accept that they have to do them ‘just because they’re women.’

Leave a Reply

